Multiple Award Winners at RANZCR 70th Annual meeting

Congratulations to Professor Ken Lau and Professor Tim Buckenham from Monash Health’s Imaging team who were recently awarded at the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiologists (RANZCR) 70th Annual Scientific Meeting in Auckland.

Professor Tim Buckenham received the RANZCR Clinical Radiology Educational Service Award. 

This award was developed to acknowledge outstanding level of commitment, participation and leadership in the area of training and education in clinical radiology over an extended period of time. In particular, it is intended to recognise a Fellow who has made ongoing significant contributions well over and above a standard expected by all training institutions in the specialty.

Professor Tim Buckenham has been dedicated to teaching and training throughout his career and has demonstrated an outstanding level of commitment to these pursuits. Tim was Chief Anatomy Examiner from 2003 until 2017 , introduced remunerated professional anatomists to the core group responsible for setting and marking the Part 1 exam and oversaw the transition to the electronic platform. As President of IRSA in 2010, Professor Tim Buckenham was the originator and organiser of the tripartite agreement between the RANZCR, CIRSE and IRSA and thereby brought the european board examinations to Australian Interventional Radiology.

Professor Ken Lau received the Rouse Travelling Fellowship.

The Rouse Travelling Fellowship is awarded to a clinical radiologist in Australia once every 3 to 4 years. It has been established as a vehicle for the continuing exchange of information and ideas between clinical radiologists and radiation oncologists of Australia and New Zealand and honours the memory of the late Edgar Rouse, an early College benefactor. The Fellowship enables a Fellow from Australia or New Zealand to attend and present at the College’s annual scientific meeting in the other country, and to visit and present in their field of interest in at least three training centres in that country.

As part of his fellowship, Ken presented on ‘Advanced CT Iterative Reconstruction and its application’ at the recent Auckland RANZCR ASM. Professor Lau will visit 3 New Zealand institutions for knowledge exchange in due course.   Ken has obtained multiple research grants and supervised a number of Masters students. A regularly invited national and international speaker he has authored 98 peer reviewed publications, 104 posters presentations and 45 oral scientific papers. Ken is a prolific award winner including the Toshiba scientific exhibit prizes of 2005, 2009 and 2013, the Wiley Blackwell best exhibit prizes of 2012, 2013, 2015, the Philips Healthcare prize (2011) and the best scientific paper at the 2011 joint RCR/HKCR ASM. Ken has supervised many radiology registrars who have also won prizes including the ARRS resident award and the RANZCR Victorian Branch research prize.

Professor Tim Buckenham (Pictured right) receiving his award

Professor Ken Lau (Pictured right) receiving his award

Previous Next
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this
This website is for Monash Health employees. Please be mindful before sharing links.Learn more