Emergency Department success at ACEM Annual Scientific Meeting

Congratulations to Monash Health Emergency Department team and School of Clinical Sciences on their recent successes at the Australasian College for Emergency Medicine (ACEM) Annual Scientific Meeting held in Hobart from 17-21 November.

Professor Diana Egerton-Warburton, Dr Simon Craig, Associate Professor Anselm Wong, Dr Adam West, Dr Rachel Rosler and Dr David Lightfoot all received awards at the College Ceremony held as part of the event.
The Department of Paediatrics, Dr Simon Craig, received an International Development Fund Grant of $15,000 for his project “The Monash Children’s Hospital Paediatric Emergency Medication Book: Improving management of paediatric emergencies in Latin America.” IDF grants are intended to promote the development of emergency care in developing countries through teaching, training and capacity building.

Professor Diana Egerton-Warburton, Adjunct Professor in the School of Clinical Sciences and Director of Emergency Medicine Research at Monash Medical Centre, received the ACEM Distinguished Service Award along with MMC colleague, Dr David Lightfoot. The award, which was established in 2018, recognises the provision of service to an area of College activity over a period of time.

Professor Egerton-Warburton has been extensively involved with ACEM for over two decades having held roles on the Primary Examination Committee, and as chair of the Trainee Selection Committee. She has also received several ACEM awards, including the Morson Taylor Research Award in 2009 and the Teaching Excellence medal in 2013. Professor Egerton-Warburton was also one of the keynote speakers at this year’s meeting.

Dr Lightfoot has also dedicated many years of service to the College, predominately in the fields of assessment and examination. Upon receiving his award Dr Lightfoot said, “I am deeply honoured to receive the award. I have thoroughly enjoyed my work for the College throughout my career and believe it has helped me to become a better clinician. It has given me great pleasure to watch trainees work through and complete their training to become Emergency Physicians leading and delivering emergency care in Australasia.”

Associate Professor Anselm Wong, clinical toxicologist, emergency physician and NHMRC Research Fellow received the Al Spilman Early Career Researcher Grant which is awarded to assist ECRs in developing and enhancing their research portfolio. Associate Professor Wong received $30,000 to fund his work investigating increased N-acetylcysteine dosing in patients treated for paracetamol overdose.

Dr Rachel Rosler, Director of Monash Medical Centre Emergency Department and Dr Adam West, Director of Paediatric Emergency Medicine, were awarded the John Gilroy Potts Award for their collaborative work with Dr Katie Walker, lead author from Cabrini Hospital, for the paper “Impact of scribes on emergency medicine doctors’ productivity and patient throughput: multicentre randomised trial”.

Previous Next
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this
This website is for Monash Health employees. Please be mindful before sharing links.Learn more